Thanks for your interest in touring Ireland with us. Inishfree Tours is owned by John and Jo Smith and we have been running the tours for twelve years. Our tours are for people who don't like tours.  You'll experience the best music and scenery, and will be steeped in the rich Irish culture and history.  Ireland has a rhythm of its own and, when followed, magic happens.  Our tours run 9 days and nights. We bring 22 guests and travel in small luxury coaches. Each tour visits three counties for three days and nights each staying in small quality hotels. By day we visit surrounding ancient sites, stone circles, ring forts, fishing villages, beaches, heritage centers, and more. Leaders often bring their musical instruments for an occasional song along the way. We return to our hotel each afternoon, freshen up, have dinner, and and by night we share music with Irish songwriters, poets, and traditional musicians at traditional 'sessions' of fiddles, penny whistles, guitars, box accordions, tenor banjos, playing jigs, reels, and songs.

The tours are very relaxed and flexible. Guests come from all across the US. and Canada. Our groups tend to get very close making life long friendships. 

Cost is $2350 per person based on double occupancy (two to a room). $2850 for single room rate (single room availability is limited). Cost covers nine nights lodging, the luxury coach, all breakfasts, three group dinners, music, island ferries, and heritage centers. Guests pay for their flight, lunches, six dinners, drinks and tips. All tours begin at Shannon Airport, SNN, 30 miles north of Limerick in west Ireland.

 

Refunds

  • You may cancel your Inishfree Tour for a full refund minus a $200 processing fee if you do so more than 5 months prior to your scheduled tour.

  • If you cancel less than 5 months before your scheduled tour, you will receive a full refund minus a $200 processing fee only if your tour slot can be filled.

  • If you cancel between 4 and 5 months prior to your scheduled tour, and your slot cannot be filled, you will receive a 50% refund.

  • If you cancel less than 4 months prior to your scheduled tour, and your slot cannot be filled, no refund will be given.

I suggest guests purchase trip insurance such as www.Insuremytrip.com

Here is a nice YouTube link of some of the places we visit in Ireland. Blackie, the piper, is a friend of ours and plays for many of our groups in Doolin County Clare. Enjoy!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6uTxitmHzy0

 


 

Check out the Inishfree Tours Facebook page  https://www.facebook.com/inishfreetours

2017 Tour Dates

Sold out tours are in red.

 

Dates Counties Tour Leader Website
April 28-May7 Cork,Kerry,Clare Moors and McCumber http://www.moorsandmccumber.com
May 2-11 Mayo,Galway,Clare Tim Grimm www.timgrimm.com
May 9-18 Cork,Kerry,Clare Moors and McCumber http://www.moorsandmccumber.com
May 12-21 Cork,Kerry,Clare James Keelaghan http://keelaghan.com
May 21-30 Cork,Kerry,Clare Small Potatoes http://smallpotatoesmusic.com
May 24-June 2 Cork,Kerry,Clare David Francey http://davidfrancey.com
June 2-11 Cork,Kerry,Clare Tom Kimmel http://www.tomkimmel.com
June 5-14 Cork,Kerry,Clare Tim Grimm www.timgrimm.com
June 13-22 Cork,Kerry,Clare Tom Kimmel http://www.tomkimmel.com
June 26-July 5 Cork,Kerry,Clare Johnsmith http://johnsmithmusic.com
June 27-July 6 Cork,Kerry,Clare Dana Cooper  http://www.danacoopermusic.com
July 6-15 Mayo,Galway,Clare Johnsmith http://johnsmithmusic.com
July 9-18 Mayo,Galway,Clare Buddy Mondlock http://buddymondlock.com
July 17-26 Mayo,Galway,Clare Joe Crookston http://www.joecrookston.com
July 19-29 Cork,Kerry,Clare Chuck Brodsky http://chuckbrodsky.com
July 28-Aug 6 Cork,Kerry,Clare Ronny Cox http://www.ronnycox.com
July 31-Aug 10 Mayo,Sligo,Clare Chuck Brodsky http://chuckbrodsky.com
Aug 8-17 Cork,Kerry,Clare Willy Porter http://willyporter.com
Aug 12-21 Mayo,Galway,Clare David Roth http://www.davidrothmusic.com
Aug 21-30 Mayo,Galway,Clare Barb Bowers  barbinishfreetours@gmail.com
Aug 25-Sept 3 Mayo,Galway,Clare Johnsmith http://johnsmithmusic.com
Sept 1-10 Mayo,Galway,Clare Small Potatoes http://www.smallpotatoesmusic.com
Sept 5-14 Cork,Kerry,Clare Johnsmith http://johnsmithmusic.com
Sept 12-21 Cork,Kerry,Clare Kitty Donohoe  http://kittydonohoe.com
Sept 14-23 Mayo,Galway,Clare Moors and McCumber http://www.moorsandmccumber.com
Sept 17-26 Cork,Waterford,Clare Kate Campbell http://www.katecampbell.com
Sept 25-Oct 4 Mayo,Galway,Clare Moors and McCumber http://www.moorsandmccumber.com
Sept 29-Oct 8 Mayo,Galway,Clare David Francey http://davidfrancey.com
Oct 6-15 Cork,Kerry,Clare Joe Jencks http://joejencks.com
Oct 10-19 Cork,Kerry,Clare Harmonious Wail  http://wail.com
Oct 22-31 Mayo,Galway,Clare Sue Riley/Sloan Wainright  http://www.sueriley.com  http://www.sloanwainwright.com
       
       

 

 

We take 22 guests and travel in a small luxury coach/bus. We stay 3 nights in each county in small, quality hotels and the occasional B&B.

 

 

 

 

 

 

By day we hike scenic landscapes, visit old castles and abbey ruins,

 

Hiking on Inishbofin Island

 

 

and stone circles,

 
Ancient settlement on Dingle Peninsula

 

 

sightseeing along gorgeous coastal scenery,

 
along the Slea Head Drive

 

 

visiting beaches, mountain tops, bogs, small fishing villages, and islands.

 
Glendore, County Cork

 

 

And by night we share music with local Irish singers and players...some original music, some traditional, and songs by tour leaders and any others from the group who may wish to share a song or two.

 

 

 

Hoban's, Westport, County Mayo

 

 

 

There's lots of great music in the pubs in Doolin, Country Clare.

 
Doolin, County Clare

 

 

The trips to County Kerry include a tour of the Dingle Peninsula, exploring the Sleas Head drive and other scenic destinations.

 
Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

View above Ballyferriter, County Kerry

 

 

Trips to County Clare include the Cliffs of Moher,


Cliffs of Moher, County Clare

and the dramatic landscapes of The Burren.

 
The Burren, County Clare

 

 

Dingle Peninsula in County Kerry

 

 

 
near Dunquin

Some trips include a boat ride to Inishbofin Island where time has stood still. Gorgeous cycling along one lane roads around the island.

 
Cycling around Inishbofin Island  

 

Also in County Galway is the beautiful Connemara area.

  Doo Lough Pass, County Galway

If interested contact:
john@johnsmithmusic.com

An $800 deposit is required to hold slots after confirmation from me. Balance is due in two payments, 6 months and 3 months prior to the tour dates.

So let me know if you want to join us and which tour you are interested in. There are a limited number of single rooms available, so having a travel mate is preferred.  A moderate degree of fitness is required.

 

 
Sharing a song along the way.
 

 

 
Remembering our dear friend Tom Pigott (with Johnsmith)
 


Johnsmith
608-534-6656
johnsmithmusic.com


Thanks to Ann & Paul Schatzkin for the photos, taken on their tour of Ireland in October, 2006.

 

 

Signup for Newsletter

Join the email list!

Johnsmith

Ireland Tours

Esalen Institue

Upcoming Events

  • Apr 29
    Mequon, WI, 
     
  • May 5
    Lanesboro, MN, 
     
  • May 6
    Bangor, WI Leo and Leona's,